This could be me…

So I’m currently researching the history of the land and power conflict between Israelis and Palestinians (you couldn’t possibly tell by my previous postings, I know.) I do a lot of my researching from home, but also, for access to libraries and journals, from uni. If the legislation in my country and enough people at my uni were as utterly fucked in their minds, I might by now be sitting in a cell myself …

Manual downloaded from US government website
Student researching al-Qaida tactics held for six days

[Guardian.co.uk]

Despite his Nottingham University supervisors insisting the materials were directly relevant to his research, Rizwaan Sabir, 22, was held for nearly a week under the Terrorism Act, accused of downloading the materials for illegal use. The student had obtained a copy of the al-Qaida training manual from a US government website for his research into terrorist tactics. […]

Sabir was arrested on May 14 after the document was found by a university staff member on an administrator’s computer. The administrator, Hisham Yezza, an acquaintance of Sabir, had been asked by the student to print the 1,500-page document because Sabir could not afford the printing fees. The pair were arrested under the Terrorism Act, Sabir’s family home was searched and their computer and mobile phones seized. They were released uncharged six days later but Yezza, who is Algerian, was immediately rearrested on unrelated immigration charges and now faces deportation. […]

“On Tuesday they read me a statement confirming it was an illegal document which shouldn’t be used for research purposes. To this day no one has ever clarified that point. They released me. I was shaking violently, I fell against the wall, then on the floor and I just cried.” […]

At its annual conference next week the University and College Union will debate a motion on “assaults on academic freedom by the DIUS [Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills]”. Sally Hunt, general secretary of the UCU, said: “If we really want to tackle problems like extremism and terrorism, then we need to be safe to explore the issues and get a better understanding. The last thing we need is people too frightened to discuss an issue or research a subject because they fear being arrested or reported.”

Somebody tell the Amurricans they’re distributing illegal documents worldwide. Somebody arrest the President. I’m not satisfied.

J-Live – Satisfied
(I saw the man live on stage last night – again.)

(Second verse)
Hey yo, the ants still steal
The anthrax got my old earth wearin’ a mask and gloves to get a meal
I know a older guy that lost twelve close peeps on 9-1-1

While you kickin’ up punchlines and puns
Man fuck that shit, this is serious biz
By the time Bush is done, you won’t know what time it is
If it’s war time or jail time, time for promises
And time to figure out where the enemy is
The same devils that you used to love to hate
They got you so gassed and shook now, you scared to debate

The same ones that traded books for guns
Smuggled drugs for funds
And had fun lettin’ off forty-one
But now it’s all about NYPD caps
And Pentagon bumper stickers
But yo, you still a nigga
It ain’t right them cops and them firemen died
The shit is real tragic, but it damn sure ain’t magic
It won’t make the brutality disappear
It won’t pull equality from behind your ear
It won’t make a difference in a two-party country
If the president cheats, to win another four years
Now don’t get me wrong, there’s no place I’d rather be
The grass ain’t greener on the other genocide
But tell Huey Freeman don’t forget to cut the lawn
And uproot the weeds
Cuz I’m not satisfied

Leave a comment

Filed under but seriously..., Law and Ordure, Schöner Wohnen, [andbehold]

Leave a Reply

